Bilingual/ESL

BESL DEPARTMENT

Mission:
Writing Success Stories, one student at a time. 

Vision:
Effectively Support our students' diverse academic, linguistic, and cognitive needs to help them become productive members of our society. Together, we will bring a force of excellence to schools, communities, and families. 

Eligibility for English Language Learner (ELL) Services

 §89.1225. Testing and Classification of Students.

 (a)  For identifying English language learners, school districts shall administer to each student who has a language other than English as identified on the home language survey:

 (1)  In prekindergarten through Grade 1, an oral language proficiency test approved by the Texas Education Agency (TEA); and

 (2)  In Grades 2-12, a TEA-approved oral language proficiency test and the English reading and English language arts sections from a TEA-approved norm-referenced assessment, or another test approved by the TEA, unless the norm-referenced standardized achievement instrument is not valid in accordance with subsection (f)(2)(C) of this section.

 

Participating Campuses

Elementary:

Acton
Alexander
Bilhartz
Central
Fairmeadows
Hastings
Hyman
Merrifield
Smith

Intermediate:

Daniel
Brandenburg
Hardin

Middle School:

Byrd
Kennemer
Reed

High school: 

Duncanville High School
Pace

Auxiliary:

Summit

Erica Reyes

Erica Reyes
Director of Language Acquisition & Early Childhood
ereyes@duncanvilleisd.org

Tami Sanchez
BESL Coordinator
tsanchez@duncanvilleisd.org 

Claudia Galvan
Early Childhood Coordinator
clgalvan@duncanvilleisd.org

Jose Pinter
EL Instructional Specialist
jpinter@duncanvilleisd.org

Karen Boss-Johnson
EL Instructional Specialist
kboss@duncanvilleisd.org

Natasha Williams
EC Instructional Specialist
nawilliams@duncanvilleisd.org

Pauline Rocha
EC Instructional Specialist
procha@duncanvilleisd.org

Maria Jimenenz
Department Secretary
mjimenez@duncanvilleisd.org

BESL Office
Duncanville Education Plaza
710 S Cedar Ridge Dr
Duncanville 75137

Hours of Operation:
M-Th 8:00 am - 4:30 pm
F 8:00 am - 4:00 pm

phone: 972-708-2075
fax: 972-708-2020


LPAC Specialists

Araceli Gil
agil@duncanvilleisd.org

Lily Galvan
Lgalvan@duncanvilleisd.org

Elizabeth Estrada
eestrada@duncanvilleisd.org

Vanessa Salinas
vsalinas@duncanvilleisd.org


LPAC Clerks

Mary Aguirre
marya@duncanvilleisd.org

Rosa Inurrigarro
rinurrigarro@duncanvilleisd.org