Spirit of a Champion

Recognizing Our Peers - Spirit of a Champion Nominations

Nominations are now open for the 2022 Spirit of a Champion awards.

The Duncanville ISD Spirit of a Champion award recognizes district employees who have demonstrated expertise and leadership in the area of education for the betterment of our students and district. All district employees who have given a minimum of five years of service to Duncanville ISD are eligible for nomination (past winners are no longer eligible). The nomination window is generally in January or February and is conducted using an online nomination form. If you have questions, contact the Communications & Public Relations Department using news@duncanvilleisd.org

Spirit of a Champion recipients are individuals who are well-respected by their peers for their countless contributions to the organization. They exemplify characteristics of positive mentors, exemplary professionals, serve as positive role models, and demonstrate that they are friends of public education. This districtwide honor primarily focuses on people who impact students, our community and schools and may not qualify for the comparable Teacher of the Year recognition.

Past Spirit of a Champion recipients are:

  • 2002 - Denise McClung, Sharon Smith and Janice Varnell
  • 2003 - Mike Chrietzberg, Janie Alanis and Karen Cothran
  • 2004 - Sandra Burks, Randy Cothran, Judy Deever, Maggie Shepherd and Hazel Wiley
  • 2005 - Cheryl Barringer, Pat Downey and Dorothy Howell
  • 2006 - Raymond Alfaro, Diane Leverentz and Kim Sanford
  • 2007 - Karen Ewing, Jim Sutherlin and Diane Waldrop
  • 2008 - Jeanae Beal, Charles Moore and Vicki Smith
  • 2009 - Kayla Fry, Larry McHaney and Bill Young
  • 2010 – Judy Henry, Janet Johnson and Flo Judd
  • 2011 – Jim Humphreys, Tammy Kuykendall and the Duncanville HS Library
  • 2012 – Carol Anderson, Ed Marcell and Frances Roady
  • 2013 – Kathleen Brown, Charles Eaton and Cathy Self-Morgan
  • 2014 – Mendy Autry, Danielle Butler, Carol Rittiman and John Tahaney
  • 2015 – Gary Bennett, Claudia Lumbreras, Alfonso Ortiz and James Rich
  • 2016 – Vanessa Phillips, Dwight Weaver and Mari Zamora
  • 2017 - Latrisa R. Shedd, Natalie Crittendon, Javier Canales and Tijuana Hudson
  • 2018 - Angel Cabrera, Lisa Felton, Amy Kile and Shalontae Payne
  • 2019 - Gabriel Fernandez Hidalgo, Matilde Galindo, Brenda Webb
  • 2022 - Tamra Thompson, Andrea Fields and Alec Hawkins