Duncanville ISD Communications Department Earns Six State Awards at TSPRA
Jeff Smith, Hillary Hopson, Connie Wallace, Paige Stewart, Angela Davis-Henry

From Left to Right: Jeff Smith, Hillary Hopson, Connie Wallace, Paige Stewart, Angela Davis-Henry

The Duncanville ISD Communications Department was honored with six state awards while at the annual Texas School Public Relations Association (TSPRA) conference during an awards dinner, TSPRA’s Star Awards Celebration, held February 22, 2023, at the Omni Hotel Fort Worth.

Each year, TSPRA recognizes communicators in school districts, education foundations, education associations and organizations for their work in print and electronic media categories. There are 47 main categories covering various media such as newsletters, programs, posters, reports, writing, image/identity packages, photography, graphics, video, electronic presentations, mobile apps, campaigns, events, and web sites.  

Duncanville ISD competed in the “less than 15,000 students” category against districts from all over the state. Independent judges evaluate and score each entry based on its own merit. Bronze, Silver, and Gold Stars are then awarded based on set criteria.

Finally, the judges review their highest scoring Gold Star winners and select a Best of Category for each division in each of the 47 categories.

Duncanville ISD received awards in the following categories:

·       Best of Category & Gold Star Award – Levels to Legacy (Hillary Hopson)

·       Gold Star Award – Phil McNeely Classic (Hillary Hopson)

·       Gold Star Award – The Greatest Job on Earth (Hillary Hopson) 

·       Silver Star Award – Where Dreams are Inspired (Hillary Hopson)

·       Silver Star Award – Board Recognition (Hillary Hopson)


The Texas School Public Relations Association (TSPRA) is a nonprofit, professional organization dedicated to promoting public schools through effective communications. TSPRA, an award-winning chapter of the National School Public Relations Association (NSPRA), was chartered in 1962 and incorporated in 1977.