District Leader Named Superintendent of the Year

Superintendent of the Year

Duncanville ISD Superintendent Dr. Marc Smith received the surprise announcement that he is the 2020 Superintendent of the Year for Region 10.

“Dr. Smith deserves this recognition and so much more,” said Duncanville ISD Board President Cassandra Phillips. “He is exactly where he is supposed to be at this exact moment and we are blessed to have him. With everything going on in the world right now, Dr. Smith is the right person to lead Duncanville ISD through a health pandemic and all the challenges that come with it. He operates with such style and grace, and strategic preparation.” 

Dr. Smith joined Duncanville ISD as the superintendent of schools in 2016. In his four years serving the district and community, Dr. Smith has prioritized students, fostered open communication with leaders and partners, and built a foundation for excellence. His positive, professional demeanor has set the tone of possibility and promise.

Since Dr. Smith arrived in Duncanville ISD, there has been an increase in students returning to the district and an enhanced focus on academic excellence.. In 2019, Duncanville ISD achieved a “B” accountability rating, making it the highest performing district in the Best Southwest area. 

Duncanville ISD’s culture has been transformed under Dr. Smith’s adage - Professionalism, Accountability and Communication -, also known as the PAC. Dr. Smith believes in coaching and developing leaders within the district, which is why the Inspiring Leaders Academy focuses on mentorship and career growth and has resulted in the promotion of dozens of new leaders.

As the Region 10 Superintendent of the Year, Dr. Smith represents the region that includes 130 independent school districts, charters and private schools across 10 north Texas counties, including Dallas County.  He is among 19 regional finalists who will be interviewed by the state committee. The committee will select five state finalists, and one TASB Superintendent of the Year. The district of the TASB Superintendent of the Year receives a $5,000 award, which will be presented at the 2020 TASA/TASB Convention.

Since 1984, the Texas Association of School Boards Superintendent of the Year (SOTY) award program has honored outstanding administrators' achievement and excellence in public school administration. These school leaders exhibit exemplary and visionary leadership toward improving student performance. They are chosen for their strong leadership skills, dedication to improving the quality of education in their districts, and commitment to public support and involvement in education.