Return to Headlines

DHS Band Students Earn Top Spot in State


Four Duncanville High School students received the highest recognition of individual musical achievement by qualifying for the All State Band this past weekend. They auditioned on Saturday, January 9 with students from the Dallas area, Central Texas, North Austin and North Houston.


The series of competitions began last fall with 55,000 band students from around the state vying for a spot. During the first round of competition, Duncanville had a record number of 139 students earn a place in the All Region Bands.  DHS band members earned 11 “first chairs” – which designates them the best musician in their respective sections.


A total of 36 Duncanville students advanced to the next level of competition: Pre-Area. Those students will participate in the Texas Music Educators Association’s Region 20 clinic and concert January 21-22 at Duncanville High School.


From Pre-Area, DHS had 18 students advance to the Area audition; four students were chosen to the All State Band and one was chosen as an alternate. This achievement is a special and unique honor. Those four All State band students represent the top 1-percent of all high school band students from across the state.



All Region 1st Chairs:

Reed Giunta, English Horn

John Cruz, Baritone Saxophone

Monique Sanford, Flute

Nathan Frickle, French Horn

Patrick Sanford, Euphonium

Lauren Wallace, Piccolo

Rebeca Zambrano, E-flat Clarinet

Salvador Vega, Bass Clarinet

Nathaniel Trujillo, Alto Saxophone

Harrington Hurdle, Percussion

Robert Graham, Contrabass



Ramiro Caballero, Tenor Trombone

Monique Sanford, Flute

Corinne Daniels, Oboe

Arely Torres, B-flat Clarinet

David Williams Jr., Trumpet

Madeline Smith, Trumpet

Nathan Frickle, French Horn

Megan Foster, French Horn

Matthew Acosta, Bass Trombone

Euphonium, Patrick Sanford

Jason Alanis, Jr., Tuba

Isaiah Waters, Percussion

Karxyriah Ashley, Bassoon

Kahlil Wyatt, Tenor Trombone


All State Band:

Reed Giunta, English Horn

Claudia Corpeno, B-flat Clarinet

John Cruz, Baritone Saxophone

Sharif Long, Tuba

Ramiro Caballero, Tenor Trombone *all state alternate