Return to Headlines

DHS Senior Receives Top Photojournalism Award

Alexis        Karla

Photo: Alexis Rosebrock                    Photo: Karla Estrada
Duncanville High School senior Karla Estrada received the state’s highest award for her work on the high school’s news website, Panther Prints. Estrada, who has been recognized nationally for her photography, was named Photo Editor of the Year for the State of Texas at the University Scholastic League’s (UIL) Interscholastic League Press Conference (ILPC) last weekend. The award is incredibly prestigious considering that more than 100 schools in Texas nominate their editors for this award and only one student receives it.

The Panther Prints website received a Bronze Star at the ILPC - placing it among the top publications in the state of Texas. Individual journalists received awards, including four gold medals, for writing and photography.


Kennedy Stidham: Gold medalist Headline Portfolio, Bronze medalist in Personal Columns, Honorable Mention in News Feature
Ariel Benson: Silver medalist in Editorial Writing, Gold medalist in Personal Opionion Writing

Khadijah McCall: Honorable Mention in Sports Writing

Davion Smith: Silver medalist in Personal Opinion Writing

Cynthia Rangel: Gold medalist in Feature Photo, Bronze medalist Photo PortfolioSilver medalist Sports Action Photo, Honorable Mention Sports Column

Melissa Retana: Honorable Mention Feature Photo

Alexis Rosebrock: Gold medalist in General News Photo

Panther Prints students also competed in the Press Women of Texas Journalism contest. View the winners below.


First place: Ariel Benson (National Qualifier)

Opinion Writing:

Second place: Karen Gaytan and Kennedy Stidham

Third Place: Cynthia Rangel and Ariel Benson

Honorable Mention: Taryn Marceleno


News Story:

Second Place: Kennedy Stidham

Third Place:  Kennedy Stidham


Feature Story:

Third Place: Davion Smith, Taryn Marceleno and Kennedy Stidham


Sports Story:

Second Place: Noah Vice (double Winner) and Cynthia Rangel

Third Place: Brittany Ramirez


Feature Photos:

Second Place: Alexis Rosebrock


Sports Photo:

First Place: Karla Estrada (National Qualifier)

Second Place: Olivia Colchado and Karla Estrada

Third Place: Cynthia Rangel, Alexis Rosebrock and Michelle Villegas

Honorable Mention: Cynthia Rangel, Alexis Rosebrock and Karla Estrada

Yearbook Photo:

Second Place: Karla Estrada and Tomica Charles

Honorable Mention: Cynthia Rangel and Karla Estrada