Return to Headlines

Duncanville Coach Named to Texas Basketball Hall of Fame



Duncanville ISD Athletic Director and Girls Varsity Basketball Coach Cathy Self-Morgan is one of eight legendary coaches and standout players named to The Texas High School Basketball Hall of Fame for 2016.


The 2016 class will be inducted into the Texas High School Basketball Hall of Fame during a banquet at the El Tropicano Hotel on May 21, 2016, in San Antonio at the annual Texas Association of Basketball Coaches (TABC) Clinic. The inductees are: Cathy Self-Morgan, Judy Beasley, Andre Boutte, Roy Garcia, Lonnie Gaylor, Carl Owens, Wayne Tipton and Skip Townsend.


“These men and women exemplify the best that Texas Basketball has to offer both on and off the court. Their legacy will be long remembered for years to come,” said TABC Director Rick Sherley.


Coach Cathy Self-Morgan is in her 16th season at the helm of the Duncanville Pantherettes. She led the Pantherettes to the State Championship in 2003, 2012, and 2013. Her Duncanville teams have made it to the playoffs every year. From 2012 to 2014, Coach Self-Morgan’s Pantherette teams won 105 consecutive games. Coach Self-Morgan reached her 1000th career win during the 2014 – 2015 season.